The Team

Kate McDowell | Co-Artistic Director
Kate is a Far North Coast rambler who never seems to be in one place. Fortunately that doesn’t make much difference to her ability to work for Crack Theatre Festival. She is a part of theatre collective Wonderbabes and writes epic, emotionally fuelled portraits of Gen Y and the moral concerns of our time. She is searching for how this theatre can be appealing to the generation it speaks to. In 2016 Kate is looking forward to meeting more knock-out theatre artists and bringing even more geography and demography to the Festival.

Nikki Kennedy | Co-Artistic Director
Nikki is a interdisciplinary theatre maker with an interest in feminist theatre, interactive game making and dance. She loves being part of festivals – both presenting work as an artist and helping to craft them/ supporting other artists as part of the festival team. She has been presenting performances at Crack Theatre Festival in various forms since 2009 and worked with the You Are Here festival team from 2011 – 2014. Nikki is looking forward to working with YOU on the Festival in 2016 and beyond.

Hannah Strout | General Manager
Hannah is an avid David Bowie fan (in mourning) with a passion for list-writing, leopard print, and animals. She holds a Bachelor of Social Work, which informs her practice as an arts facilitator and producer with community-based organisations Shopfront Arts Co-Op and Milk Crate Theatre.
Hannah is looking forward to wearing a new hat in 2016 as the Festival’s inaugural General Manager, and hopes that it suits her outfit.

Bri Zammit | Producer
Bri Zammit is an aspiring festival producer and an enthusiast of all things creative. In 2014 Bri achieved a Bachelor of Entertainment Industries from Queensland University of Technology and during her studies, a love for live entertainment and festivals blossomed. Making her debut in the festival scene as Producer/Production Manager in 2016 Backbone’s 2high Festival, Bri is ready to integrate her passion for supporting artists and connecting arts audiences together within her role as Associate Producer in Crack Theatre Festival 2016.

Hannah Smith | Associate Producer
A born and bred Novacastrian (always looking for an opportunity to use such an excellent word); TiNA is in Hannah’s blood. She’s been attending Crack Theatre Festival since her performance debut in 2011. A Bachelor of Arts (Honours) graduate, Hannah works and volunteers within the NSW arts community at festivals and events. The 2016 Festival planted seeds of strong interstate connections and Hannah can’t wait to watch these relationships grow through the cracks in 2017.

Chair: Belinda Locke – Sponsorship Co-ordinator, Malthouse Theatre Company
Kevin Ng – Independent Community Theatre-maker and Production Manager
Amanda Wright – General Manager, Powerhouse Youth Theatre
Hannah Strout – General Manager, Crack Theatre Festival; Director of Young and Emerging Artist Programs, Shopfront Arts Co-op
Melissa Lee Speyer – Playwright & Independent Lawyer
Mark King – Service Integration Lead, IBM